Book 3: Matched, Ally Condie

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

 

I’m going to start this by saying that I love dystopian novels. Some of my favourite books are the old, classic sci-fi dystopias: Brave New World, Farenheit 451 and 1984. As a result of this I tend to be hesitant when it comes to this new sort of wave of YA Dystopia that seems to have sprung up over the last couple of years. I almost feel like I want to be assured that any I try will be fantastic. I didn’t try The Hunger Games series until the third book had been released. Of course, as soon as I started those I read all three books in one weekend.

So yeah, you can say I was hesitant about Matched. But that was only until I cracked open my copy and read the first page. Then I was hooked. Completely hooked.

There is so much about this story that grabbed me. The Society. Cassia. Her family. All of these were major highlights for the novel. Most especially the Society. The way the Society keeps control of everyone and every aspect of their lives really freaked me out. Which is how I know a dystopian novel is truly fantastic, if the idea of the world truly turning out this way scares me.

The only downside I really saw to it was the love triangle. Although granted I’m not sure if it’s even meant to be a love traingle at all, I’m not quite sure. But maybe that’s just because I felt like Xander was kind of sidelined for the most part. I don’t know, maybe that’s just me…

The last thing I need to mention is the cover. The design is beautiful. I know the old adage is that you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but as a girl who studied Fine Arts before deciding to transfer to English, a well-designed cover will always get me in. The girl in the green dress trapped inside her bubble beautifully represents everything in the novel itself. It’s just, so perfect. 🙂

Am very much looking forward to the sequel, Crossed, being released in November. 🙂

 

You can check out Ally Condie’s website and the official Matched website, or you can follow her on Twitter: @allycondie

Check out Matched on Goodreads, or you can order it from Booktopia and Amazon.

 

Books left: 147

Days left: 561

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I really love Matched, and I just finished reading Crossed, so this post makes me happy. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I haven’t been hearing the greatest things about Crossed so now I’m kinda sad. But I also love the cover of Crossed, so who knows!

    Reply
    • Yeah, I haven’t heard the greatest things either, which is why I’ve been putting it off and reading other things instead. But again, the cover is awesome! 😀 I think I might wait a couple more months before I try Crossed, let some more of the hype die down a bit, so I can go into it more unbiased than I am at the moment.

      Reply
  1. [review] Matched by Ally Condie | coffeeandwizards

Leave a Reply

