Book 7: Endgame, Samuel Beckett

Originally written in French and translated into English by Beckett, Endgame was given its first London performance at the Royal Court Theatre in 1957.

‘Outside lies a world of death. Inside the room the blind, impervious Hamm sits in a wheelchair while his lame servant, Clov, scuttles about obeying his orders. Each depends fractiously on the other: Hamm alone knows the combination of the larder while Clov is his master’s eyes and last remnant of human contact. The only other survivors are Hamm’s legless parents, Nagg and Nell, who squat in dustbins upstage and die during the play.’ Michael Billington, Guardian

 

So, this is probably going to be pretty short. Because the fact is I don’t like Samuel Beckett. At all. I utterly detested Waiting for Godot when I had to study it a couple of years ago. So when Endgame came up on my English course last semester, I was not happy. Nope, not a happy chappy at all. But I was willing to give Beckett the benefit of the doubt, and give him another try, despite my lack of enthusiasm.

But no, I still don’t like Beckett. Endgame probably just made me hate him more. I mean, I get it, sort of. As I told my lecturer at the end of semester when we were just talking about which texts had been our favourites and which we didn’t like: I can appreciate what he was doing, but I still don’t like it. And I can. I can appreciate what he was doing with theatre, and absurdist theatre, and why he was doing it at the particular time post-WWII. But all the same it annoys me and I hate it.

I think what it essentially comes down to is that above everything I’m a stories girl. I need a narrative, no matter how loose that narrative might be. And Endgame, essentially, has no narrative really. Which I know is kind of the point, but still. Give me a story Beckett, please!

So yeah, suffice it to say I won’t be picking up anymore Beckett any time soon.

 

You can check out Endgame on Goodreads, or you can order it from either Amazon or Booktopia.

 

Books left: 143

Days left: 546

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

