[Austen in August] Giveaway!

So has everyone been enjoying Austen in August? I know I’ve been loving it! (Even though I haven’t had a chance to actually get any reviews up yet. I swear they are coming!)

Today, to celebrate my love of Jane Austen and to keep the good times rolling (as well as to go along with my guest post about Mr Darcy which you can find over here at Roof Beam Reader), I have a giveaway for you. Yay!

I’ll be picking one winner who will get to choose two books: one of Austen’s six completed novels and one prequel/sequel/reimagining.

Just a few examples of recent reimaginings/sequels, but you can choose whatever one you want even if it’s not shown here. 🙂

It will be shipped via Book Depository so you may enter if they ship to your address. I reserve the right to ship from another bookseller depending on the location of the winner. To enter, please leave a comment including the items below. For this particular giveaway you MUST be a registered participant of Austen in August prior to August 1st to qualify.

1. Tell me your favorite Austen character.
2. Tell me the book you would select were you to win.
3. Your email address (to contact you should you win).

The giveaway begins today and will close midnight August 28th AEST (Australian Eastern Standard Time). I’ll randomly select a winner the following day and will notify the winner by email. The winner will have 72 hours to respond or I will select someone else. Happy reading!

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Awesome idea, to pair an Austen title with an Austen-inspired work! Good luck to all the entrants!

    Reply
    • I figured since my guest post was about Austen in the modern world it would be fun to give away an Austen-inspired as well as an original novel. 🙂

      Reply
  2. 1. I’ve always loved Lizzy Bennet, but I think that Austen has some great supporting characters too. I think Emma’s complaining father and the lovely Henry Tilney are also favorites.
    2. I’ve heard great things about For Darkness Shows the Stars
    3. avidreader25 [at] gmail.com

    Yay for Austen in August!

    Reply
    • I love Lizzy too, but Henry Tilney is definitely a favourite as well. 😀 And, oh Mr Woodhouse… 😀 I’ve heard some good things about For Darkness Shows the Stars as well, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

      Good luck!

      Reply
  3. I would have to say Emma, I have not read Pride and Prejudice yet, *hangs head* but I do have it, and will be reading it soon! I would choose Sense and Sensibility and For Darkness shows the stars. Thanks so much!
    hschrock24112 at yahoo dot com

    Reply
  4. Heather M

     /  August 22, 2012

    1. Favorite character: Captain Wentworth, for setting aside his anger and pride in order to have a second chance at happiness. Plus, that letter! “I have loved none but you.” “You pierce my soul.’ *waves self with fan*
    2. If I won, I would choose Mansfield Park, because if I had a copy on my bookshelf I’d be more inclined to read it. I’m trying to get in to it for Austen in August, but I’m pretty sure it’ll be going back to the library unfinished. I’m a sucker for a good P&P re-imagining, so I’d probably also choose Mary Lydon Simonsen’s A Wife for Mr. Darcy.
    3. hmoll(at)nycap(dot)rr(com)

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway. I really enjoyed your guest post on Roof Beam.

    Reply
    • “I am half agony, half hope.” *swoons* Wentworth is one of my favourites as well! (Especially when he’s being portrayed by Rupert Penry-Jones ;))

      Mansfield Park isn’t my favourite of Austen’s, and it can be difficult to can into, but you should definitely give it a try. I hated it and didn’t finish it the first time I read it, but on re-readings I’ve enjoyed it a lot more.

      Good luck!

      Reply
  5. What a great giveaway! Thank you for this.
    1. My favorite Austen character is Elizabeth Bennet. She remains true to herself and faithful to those she cares about.
    2. I would love the copy of Persuasion. I honestly don\’t read the reimagine/sequel books, so just Persuasion would be plenty for me.
    3. My email is lostgenerationreader[at]gmail[dot]com
    Cheers!
    Jenna

    Reply
  6. Many Thx for this FuN addition to our Au in Au participation!
    1. Tell me your favorite Austen character.
    I love Anne Elliot and also Sophy Wentworth [both Persuasion]
    2. Tell me the book you would select were you to win.
    tough choices… possibly P&P? and something from Laura Hile’s new series or Victoria Connelly’s contemps? or one of the JA Guide to Life kind of books..? such amazing choices 🙂 and love having this opp to choose ! TY!
    faithhopecherrytea at*gmail.*com
    3. Your email address (to contact you should you win).

    Enjoy your reading [and reviewing] ”)

    Reply
    • Oooh Sophy’s a brilliant character, and I adore Anne as well. I’m looking forward to rereading Persuasion soon. 🙂

      Good luck!

      Reply
  7. I’m still reading Mansfield Park, but I think that Fanny may be my favorite character. I would select Northanger Abbey. Thanks for the chance! 🙂

    Reply
    • I’m so glad to see Fanny getting some love. 🙂 I always feel a bit bad for her as I think she might be the least loved of Austen’s heroines.

      Good luck in the giveaway! 🙂

      Reply
  8. i have only read 3 Austen books so far – Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey and Lady Susan.
    1. my favorite would have to be Lizzy Bennet
    2. i would love to have a copy of Pride and Prejudice plus Death Comes to Pemberley to grace my Classics collection
    3. my email addy is aobibliophile(at)gmail(dot)com
    thank you for a very cool giveaway!

    Reply
    • I hope you’re enjoying Austen’s books and the event so far. Lizzy has always been my favourite character as well. 🙂

      Good luck!

      Reply
  9. Mary Preston

     /  August 22, 2012

    I have always admired Col. Brandon from SENSE AND SENSIBILITY. So often overlooked. I’d take him in a heartbeat.

    I’d love to read DEATH COMES TO PEMBERLEY thank you. I would also love EMMA.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    Reply
    • I’m currently reading Sense and Sensibility at the moment and it’s reminded me why I always liked Col. Brandon so much as a character. 🙂

      Good luck!

      Reply
  10. I am not much of an Austen fan but I like Jane Bennet for her quiet sensibility. If I were to win I’ll choose Mansfield Park and Lynn Shepherd’s Murder at Mansfield Park.

    Thanks.

    neerrr(at)gmail(dot)com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

